Penyet goodness from Pondok Sari Wangi

I am a huge fan of Nasi Ayam Penyet with super spicy sambal. I’ve tried several places and picked some of my favorite. One of it would be from Pondok Sari Wangi, Serusop Branch (will be mentioned as PSW for the rest of the post).

I’ve tried places with spicier sambal or bigger piece of chicken.. But trust me, PSW Serusop has one of my votes. It’s part of my top list.

Quick info. Few months back, I did a PSW trip. Tried the Ayam Bakar Sari Wangi (if I’m not mistaken) from Sengkurong branch, Nasi Ayam Penyet from Gadong and Serusop branches, Tom Yam Soup..

In terms of presentation, Gadong branch has my vote. In terms of yummy goodness for penyet, Serusop it is.

PSW’s sambal is not as spicy as I like it (I think my taste bud is broken since I’ve tried a lot of level of spiciness I can endure) BUT it is spicy enough for everyone else, and spicy enough not to lose its meaning of sambal penyet, and not not-spicy to lose its meaning of being spicy penyet. In other word, perfecto. It makes you crave for the nasi ayam penyet over and over again. Not only because of the sambal, but the chicken is perfect and tender. Apparently their sambal from Serusop is spiciest compare to other branches.

I went back for another meal a few weeks ago and I saw a lot of people tapao A LOT during lunch time.

As mentioned earlier, I like the presentation and environment from Gadong Branch.

From what I’ve experienced, the first time I went to Serusop branch, it took 5 to 10 minutes for the waitress to come over and took our orders. No there were not a lot of people, it was passed lunch time, and they were talking super loud. The second time I went there was during lunch time, so they were all busy and it was all going well, except having to see a HUGE block of ice in one of our Ice Cendol Jakarta. (Ice Cendol Jakarta is my must have!)

Nevertheless, it was forgiven because we were a couple of hungry people wanting our Nasi Ayam Penyet, Tom Yam Soup and Ice Cendol Jakarta. Though I wish not to experience any more of these the next time I go there, because I’ve made PSW as one of my top favorite.

IMG_20121121_121426

Sambal not in the picture

From: Pondok Sari Wangi Serusop Branch

Item: Nasi Ayam Penyet

Price: – I forgot to take note.. someone? $4.00 (Do correct me if I’m wrong)

Rating : 9/10

Leave a Reply

