Ko-Ryo Restaurant

Went for my first visit to a Korean Restaurant yesterday with my food buddy, Miley! Had to try an authentic Korean food to make sure what I’ve been making tastes the same (Yep! Spent my December cooking Korean food!)

IMG_20121223_121500

Got a couple messages saying I look thinner. According to Miley, “maybe it’s the make up, you should wear it more often.” LOL!

IMG_20121223_122103

I’m not used to having so much side dishes. They gave complimentary (I think) side dishes ranging from a must-have Kimchi, some fritters, veggies and anchovies.

IMG_20121223_122233

Miley wanted to try the Jjajangmyun (Black Bean Noodles – 짜장면) because whenever we watch Korean shows, they ate this. I think we knew Korean food too much from watching tv that this was disappointing. It smelled like indomie, somehow. It was rather disappointing for a $5.50 dish, it was disappointing!

IMG_20121223_122515

No it doesn’t look appetizing, yes it is good. This is Haemul Pajeon (Seafood Pancake – 해물 파전) and definitely one of the dish that I would recommend. It was good! And pricey. $8.00 per dish. I rate this an 8.5 out of 10.

IMG_20121223_122631

There is two types of Bibimbap (Mixed Vegetable on Rice – 비빔밥). An only veggie bibimbap which costs $8.00 or the one we had Dol Sot Bibimbap (돌솥 비빔밥) which is served on hot stone pot, with veggies, rice, eggs, sesame oil and hot bean paste. It was good. One of our favorite too! I would give it a 9 out of 10. Costs $10, but is enough for two since we had a lot more to eat.

IMG_20121223_122753

Another one that I don’t mind recommending is Kimchi Jjigae (Kimchi Stew – 김치 찌개) IF you like kimchi. Miles figured out she doesn’t like Kimchi, because Kimchi is a hate-love relationship. I personally don’t like Kimchi on its own. Last time I cooked the leftover Kimchi to a Kimchi Fried Rice, with extra spiciness. This stew costs us $12.00.

Overall, I think I can afford eating here whenever I have cash. Hahaha! It was a great experience, and I have yet to try a better Jjajangmyun!

Oh this is located next building to Chong Hock CD Store.

Leave a Reply

