#MiiksyCooks: Kimchi Sundubu Jjigae (김치 순두부 찌개) and Pajeon (파전)

It has been three years since I went on a cookventure. I do cook occasionally but girls, no photo = no proof lol

So! I’ve decided to re-start my cookventure and include some recipe for you to try. I also made some mistakes which I have taken note of (such as the fact that I added in way too much water and I didn’t stir fry my kimchi). After a little tweaking, it tasted much better.

First, we will start with Kimchi Sundubu Jjigae – sundubu (순두부) means soft tofu and jjigae (찌개) means stew. If you follow maangchi’s recipe, she prepared her stock with several ingredients which will guarantee in better taste but here’s my way:

Ingredients
3 cloves of garlic – sliced onion – sliced
A bunch of spring onion – chopped, around 2-3″
Vegetable Oil
2 tbs Chili Powder 고추가루 – if you don’t have any korean gochugaru, you can just use any you can find at the local store. I used Baba’s Chili Powder
1 tbs Sesame Oil
1 cup of chopped kimchi
3-4 tbsp kimchi juice
2 packs of Soft Tofu
2 boneless chicken breast – sliced thinly
2 and 1/2 cups of water
1 and 1/2 tbsp Anchovy Powder (Serbuk Ikan Bilis)
1 tsp Salt
1 tbsp Sugar

  1. Heat some vegetable oil in a pot. Once heated, add in garlic and onion for about a minute, or until translucent.

  2. Add in the meat and fry it until almost cooked

  3. Add in the chopped kimchi and fry it for about 2 minutes

  4. Add in water, kimchi juice and anchovy powder and let it boil for about 7-10 minutes

  5. While waiting for it to boil, on a small bowl, mix chili powder with sesame oil and sugar.

  6. Once it boils, add in soft tofu and break it using your spatula

  7. Add in the chili powder mixture and mix well

  8. Add in salt and let the stew boil.

  9. Once it boils, give it a taste. Add in more salt if necessary.

  10. Place the green onion on top and serve


Next is another attempt on Pajeon. Pa (파) means green onion. Pajeon (파전) means green onion pancake. My sister liked the one I did three years ago. And I sort of figured out why it didn’t taste as good. I didn’t add in chili flakes to make it spicy, and it lacks a little bit more salt. Also it didn’t cook as I liked it – it got too heavy to flip over so it’s best if you use minced chicken instead.
Ingredients
Water and Flour will have 1:1 ratio. In my case, I used 1 cup of flour to 1 cup of water – makes 3 big pajeon
A bunch of spring onions – as many as you like, chop it into 3 (around 3-4″)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
1/2 or 1 tsp chili flakes – add more if you like it to be more spicy
Vegetable Oil
Optional: chop some red chilies

  1. Mix flour and water well. Make sure there is no clumps of flour. The mixture should be thick but slightly watery.
  2. On a frying pan, heat some oil.
  3. Add in the minced or sliced chicken until it is slightly cooked
  4. Top it with green onions (add in the red chilies here if you’re adding some)
  5. Pour the batter on top – not too much but just enough to stick everything together
  6. Cook for about 3-4 minutes or until the bottom is golden brown
  7. Flip the pancake and cook until golden brown

Note – add in vegetable oil after every pancake

You may substitute the chicken into seafood – this will make it into Haemul Pajeon 해물파전 (Seafood Green Onion Pancake)


That sums up my dinner tonight! Comment below if you tried this out!

Till then
xx

2 comments

  1. Wow! That was quite a lot of Korean food which you experimented! I once tried Kimchi Fried Rice and the houseflies came swarming in.

    But I think I want to try it again some day now that I saw you posting about it. LOL!

    1. luckily for me only one was in sight, as soon as i opened the kimchi bottle hahaha i still need to tweak my recipe but i have more to try. kinda my goal for this year to learn how to cook :3

Leave a Reply

